Return to Headlines

MCSD Announces Teacher of the Year

Marion, SC, June 9, 2021– In a dedicated ceremony held at the Marion County School Districts Office of Central Services, Mr. Franklyn McInnis was named Teacher of the Year for 2021-2022.  The annual celebration honors all the schools’ designated Teachers of the Year, Support Staff of the Year, Bus Driver of the Year, Emerging Teacher of the Year, and all the people who retired at the end of the 2020 – 2021 school year. 

Franklyn McInnis teaches at Marion Intermediate School. His announcement told of his remembrance from high school where he and his friends were well-behaved and had decent grades, but were not focused on the future enough. As high school graduation neared, McInnis realized that he and his friends did not have a plan, so they enlisted to earn money for college and gave themselves time to figure out what career path to pursue. 

Since being a teenager, McInnis had a passion for writing. He passes this passion onto his students. Always trying to put his students’ minds at ease, McInnis helps them to see that with proper planning and effort they can be effective writers, and hopes to instill a passion for writing within his students.  He is especially proud of those who continue to write beyond school obligations and even reach out to him to share poetry and even novels.

The Marion County School District also announced Kimberly Baker as Support Staff of the Year.  Baker works at Easterling Primary School as their receptionist and attendance clerk. She is described as a “ray of sunshine” and has developed positive relationships with students, teachers, and parents.

Joyce Divers was announced as Bus Driver of the Year who is described as always willing to assist in any way to get the job done and is patient with the student and reliable. 

Tiffany Olival was named Emerging Teacher of the Year. This award is open to all first and second-year teachers who have demonstrated promising practices in the professions toward becoming a highly effective teacher.

Twenty-six retirees were also honored during the program.